oh folly…

It's Vegan MoFo, bitches!

I used to work at a raw vegan place. So, as you will do, I bought random things that I wasn’t really sure what to use for, but was promised that I’d start using it in everything! I clearly did not, as I haven’t been at that place in almost two years, and I still have this small bag of lucuma powder sitting in the back of my cupboard.

As I was going through my ginormous pile of recipes in my Evernote, I came across this: raw caramel chips that use lucuma! Just a few ingredients, all stuff I had, I was all gung ho!

First problem? It’s such a small amount, too small for my powerful food processor, but a little too much work for my wee food processor. So the cashews got *mostly* ground up, but… well, not really. But it was paste-like enough that I was ready to move forward.

I started off with the prettiest of intentions. But after I got the whole batch loaded into my decorating bag with my little star tip… of course those less-than-chopped cashews plugged the whole thing up, so I had to keep going in and fishing out cashew bits with a toothpick. I was ready to keep pushing forward, but when the bag burst right by the tip, I went, “Eff this!” and dumped the whole thing out on the teflex, spread it thin, planning to chop them into not-as-pretty-but-still-delicious chunks when they got dried out.

So yeah. While the recipe is tasty [the lucuma gives it a nice fruity creamy flavor that isn’t really something I can relate to anything else], I think next time it might just be blended up and used as frosting, to be honest.

About wee forks

We like tricking people into eating delicious food that just happens to be vegan. We also like tiny little forks. They make us feel like giants. We also like using the royal we, it would seem... View all posts by wee forks

Leave a Reply

