leprechaun food

It's Vegan MoFo, bitches!

Vegan MoFo 2012 is upon us! I’m going to try really hard this year to hit the total number of posts, which I came a bit short of last year.

I have never been an oatmeal person. The mush-ness of it just wasn’t for me. But everyone and their mom was going on and on about overnight oats, so I decided to give that a try, thinking that the lack of cooking it might allow it to maintain some actual texture instead of becoming a pile of glop. The first try was not to my liking, but I remembered I had a bunch of applesauce I needed to use up, so I attempted more of an apple pie kind of taste, and it worked pretty well! The thing was, eating this, and a lunch, and a big green smoothie, and yogurt with fruit, plus whatever dinner I was going to eat…well, that was too much damn food for me. So! I had the wonderful thought of trying to get some of the smoothie goodness into the overnight oats. Turns out, adding a scoop of spirulina to the mix, while making it a crazy emerald color that is not terribly appetizing to the layman, totally didn’t affect the flavor in any way! And then I get my seaweedy goodness.

So. Before you look at this picture and go “Oh dear god, there’s no way I’m eating that,” I just have to ask you to trust me and try it once.

Also, I never measure this, I just throw stuff in until it looks right. I suggest you kind of do the same, adjusting to your liking.

Leprechaun Food
adapted from Oh She Glows

ingredients

-about 1/4 c of rolled oats
-1 heaping tsp chia seeds
-1 heaping tsp of spirulina powder
-a few good dashes of cinnamon [I usually put around 1/2 tsp]
-a dash of salt
-4 good scoops of applesauce [probably 5-6 tbsp]
-almond milk [maybe about 1/2 c?]
-1 banana, sliced
-a little agave or maple syrup [omit if you are using sweetened almond milk]

to do

1. Mix together the oats, chia seeds, spirulina, cinnamon, and salt.

2. Plop in your applesauce, and then pour a bit of almond milk in, then stir very well. You don’t want spirulina getting stuck in the corners or blobs of it unincorporated. It is so much worse than when you get a ball of hot chocolate powder left, believe me.

3. Slice up your banana [I like to cut it lengthwise, and then slice it, so you have smaller bits], and add to the mix. Mush it in a bit.

4. You want the end mix to be a bit runny, so add more almond milk if you need it.

5. Add a bit of agave or maple syrup if it needs to be a bit sweeter. This can also be adjusted in the morning.

6. Seal it up, stick it in the fridge overnight, and grab it on your way to work!

About wee forks

We like tricking people into eating delicious food that just happens to be vegan. We also like tiny little forks. They make us feel like giants. We also like using the royal we, it would seem... View all posts by wee forks

Leave a Reply

