extended family christmagiving

It's Vegan MoFo, bitches!

So, as mentioned earlier, I was back in rural Iowa this last weekend for a family gathering. My grandma winters in Texas, so we have Christmas and Thanksgiving in the middle of October. It’s actually quite nice; it has all the joy of family gathering and heavy eating without all the stress and snow and dangerous driving that accompanies proper Christmas.

But as you might have guessed, what I am able to eat at such a gathering is usually pretty much limited to whatever I bring. I was also the only person who brought anything green [jello salad, of which there were eight, so does not count]. So these are the things I made and how they went over:

Oh She Glows’ Butternut Squash Mac n Cheeze: I added broccoli and spinach. I liked the cheese sauce but didn’t think to season it more after I added the butternut squash. If/when I make this again, I would make sure to do that. Also, I would leave out the broccoli. I like broccoli, I like mac n cheese, I just don’t seem to like them together.

Oh She Glows’ [yes, again] Pumpkin Spice Whoopie Pies: I’ve made these before, so I already knew they were awesome. Mister is obsessed with them. And they went over quite well, even though the cookies didn’t quite get cooked through [even though I cooked them almost 150% longer than normal. I blame Dad’s oven.]

Green Vegan Living’s Vanilla Salted Caramel Ice Cream: This went over like gangbusters. For the caramel, I ended up just using almond milk instead of the cream, and in the ice cream, vanilla extract instead of the bean. All my very omnivorous family kept talking about how it tasted just like “real” homemade ice cream. I was quite pleased and will definitely make it again.

So yeah. Successful gathering! Thankfully, in the blind gift exchange, I was not one of the four or five people who ended up with beef jerky.

About wee forks

We like tricking people into eating delicious food that just happens to be vegan. We also like tiny little forks. They make us feel like giants. We also like using the royal we, it would seem... View all posts by wee forks

One response to “extended family christmagiving

Leave a Reply

