loaded corn muffins

It's Vegan MoFo, bitches!

I’m not normally a savory muffin kind of gal. A less sweet zucchini muffin is usually kind of the limit. But for some reason, when I saw these cornbread muffins loaded up with veg on Bite Me, I’m Vegan, they intrigued me. So tonight, I made them! But, of course, I’m just too impatient to make it even once on script before I change it. I wanted them a little more southwesty. They turned out pretty well, I think. I ate three of them immediately, so that says something…

So I basically followed her recipes with the following substitutions:

-I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose
-added 2 tbsp of nutritional yeast
-overpoured the soymilk and olive oil a tiny bit, to make up for the extra dry ingredients
-did 1 full cup of corn [fresh]
-no edamame
-1 full red pepper, finely diced
-1 largeish red jalapeño, also finely diced
-I totally forgot about the onions until they had already been cooking a few minutes [which is totally too late, as the first few minutes in baked goods are what decide if it’s going to rise properly or not], even though they were sitting right next to the bowl on the countertop.

Next time I make them, I’ll probably cut down on the corn to make room for nopales. I really wish I hadn’t forgotten the green onions. They would have made this interior shot much prettier. Still, you can see how much stuff is actually in there. From the outside they just look like muffins, but the inside is showing tons of stuff. Also, I think my jalapeño was broken. Not much spice at all. Or maybe I just eat so much spicy food that my tolerance is all crazy bus now.

Also? The baker instinct in me was to lick the bowl clean after the muffins started cooking. Not such a good idea with cornbread. Not so much with the delicious. I have the same problem with raw bread dough. I just can’t seem to stop myself from putting a chunk in my mouth, even though I know better. Kind of like Lewis Black and candy corn.

About wee forks

We like tricking people into eating delicious food that just happens to be vegan. We also like tiny little forks. They make us feel like giants. We also like using the royal we, it would seem... View all posts by wee forks

3 responses to “loaded corn muffins

Leave a Reply

