banana cookies

It's Vegan MoFo, bitches!

The first time my Mom said “I’m making banana cookies,” I was quite hesitant. Being only 14 or 15, I wasn’t convinced that that was a good idea at all. But I had also never had banana bread, so that might have had something to do with it. [My lack of culinary adventures as a child is pretty spectacular. Let’s put it this way: I was a sophmore in college before I had a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. I’m pretty sure my mother, at 55, still hasn’t had one. Extrapolate from there.]

But when they finally came out of the oven, I gave in and had one. It was okay. About 10 minutes later, I had another. It was good. And then I proceeded to eat the entire tray. That same scene has played out for everyone that I’ve ever made them for. For my high school graduation reception, I refused to have meat, so we had all sorts of fancy catered desserts, but I still insisted that Mom make like 10 dozen banana cookies. Everyone got the greeting of “Hey, thanks for coming! Have a banana cookie.

So yeah, these are pretty freaking awesome. They are soft like cake, but portable like a cookie! They are just the right amount of banana flavor. You can fold one cookie into your mouth and eat the whole thing at once if you so choose. I cannot stress this enough: These cookies are amazing.

Banana Cookies

ingredients

-3/4 cup vegan butter [Earth Balance! Woo!]
-3/4 cup brown sugar
-1 1/2 tbsp applesauce
-1/2 tsp vanilla
-1/2 tsp banana extract [optional, I almost never use it]
-1 tsp baking soda
-1/4 tsp salt
-2 mashed bananas [it’s best to use brown ones]
-2 cups flour

to do

1. Preheat the oven to 350°. Spray a cookie sheet in preparation.
2. Cream the butter and brown sugar together. Mix in the applesauce, vanilla, banana extract, baking soda and salt.
3. Mash them bananas good. Mix in with the rest of the ingredients.
4. Finally, mix in the flour.
5. Put walnut sized scoops of batter onto the sheet like cookies normally go.
6. Bake for 10 minutes for each sheetful. It should make about 30 cookies. It’s better to make them a little smaller, or else they get kind of gooey, but they’re good gooey, too.

About wee forks

We like tricking people into eating delicious food that just happens to be vegan. We also like tiny little forks. They make us feel like giants. We also like using the royal we, it would seem... View all posts by wee forks

One response to “banana cookies

Leave a Reply

