ugly but delicious

It's Vegan MoFo, bitches!

Sometimes delicious food can be really ugly. For instance, had I not already tasted all these things, I know that what I had for lunch today would not look appetizing at all.

That would be some fantastic homemade beans with half of a chorizo sausage leftover from Saturday, all kind of drenched in a cilantro cheesy sauce with a Tofutti Cream Cheese base. Spoon a bit onto a corn tortilla or just eat with chips, and you’re golden. It’s packed with flavor, it just kind of looks like sick.

I frequently have giant smoothies for my afternoon snack/whatever, and my officemates are always turned off by the look but intrigued by the smell, as it still smells good. Once greens/spirulina/flax get involved, they’re not interested. If you add blueberries in there, too, which turns the whole thing almost black, they’re gone. But it’s delicious, I promise! And full of goodness!

Green Tropical Smoothie

ingredients

-1/2 c coconut milk
-1/2 c almond milk
-4 dates [omit if using sweetened almond milk]
-chlorella or spirulina
-1 tbsp of flax seeds
-2 c kale
-1 c frozen pineapple
-1 banana
-dash of vanilla [omit if using vanilla almond milk]

to do

1. Blend. It’s very complicated.

About wee forks

We like tricking people into eating delicious food that just happens to be vegan. We also like tiny little forks. They make us feel like giants. We also like using the royal we, it would seem... View all posts by wee forks

One response to “ugly but delicious

  • Kristen

    I was just lamenting on Twitter about how my food never looks as good as it tastes! I need to work on this food photography thing. And about blueberries – I love ’em, because then I don’t have to share!

Leave a Reply

