coconut tofu stir fry with black rice

It's Vegan MoFo, bitches!

Stir fry is my basic “I have no idea what I want to eat, I’m too tired to figure something new out, I’m just going to make stir fry” dinner.  It’s always easy to throw together without a concern of whether the flavors of this or that are going to work. I usually will throw a big scoop of peanut butter, some Braggs, and curry powder at the end to make the sauce, but this time I wanted something simple and clean, so I barely seasoned it at all. I also left out the sweet potatoes and carrots I wanted, as I was trying to cut way back on all sorts of sugars for the day, As normal, I used extra firm tofu that was frozen and then thawed, which makes it really easy to just squeeze all the water out like a sponge so you don’t have to press it for forever.

I’ve also lately started cooking my tofu in coconut oil more and more. Something about it gives it a deep flavor that I can’t quite describe. If you haven’t done it, I suggest you try. Peanut oil is pretty delicious, too, but like I said earlier, no peanut involvement this time. I didn’t carmelize the onions this time, but it’s definitely something to try, as I bet the sweetness with the coconut would be nice.

coconut tofu stir fry with black rice

Coconut Tofu Stir Fry with Black Rice

ingredients

-one package extra firm tofu [get out as much water as possible]
-3 tbsp coconut oil, separated
-salt
-nutritional yeast [hereafter referred to as nooch]
-1 onion, thinly sliced
-1 jalapeno, thinly sliced [try to get a red one if you can]
-1 head broccoli, chopped
-1 lime
-1/2 c black rice
-1 c water [for the rice]

to do

1. Start the rice. That should take about 40-45 minutes.

2. About 15 minutes after you start the rice, it’s time to cook the tofu. Put about 2 tbps coconut oil over medium-high heat in a large sauce pan. Cut up the tofu in whatever shape you want [I like cubes], and throw in the pan. Lightly salt and nooch the tofu, as you can always add more later. Toss and cook until it starts to brown a bit. At that point, pull it out and put in a bowl for later.

3. Put the other 1 tbsp coconut oil in the pan and saute the onion and jalapeno over medium-high heat until the onions get translucent. Throw the broccoli and keep cooking until it softens a bit and gets a nice bright green color.

4. Throw the tofu back in with the rest of the veggies. Add a bit more salt and nooch to taste. Juice the lime into the whole thing and toss. Once the rice is done, add that in to everything. Garnish with toasted sesame seeds if you have them.

About wee forks

We like tricking people into eating delicious food that just happens to be vegan. We also like tiny little forks. They make us feel like giants. We also like using the royal we, it would seem... View all posts by wee forks

Leave a Reply

