chocolate pudding

It's Vegan MoFo, bitches!

Any vegan worth their salt has some backup plan for when avocados go bad. Either you got overzealous when they were on sale, or you just somehow missed one, it happens. You crack one open and come upon this sorry state. [Admittedly, this one isn’t that far gone, but you get much farther and all it’s good for is face masks.]


One of the saddest sights.

My go-to? The simple chocolate pudding. Today, since it’s cold as crap, I wanted something wintery, so I added a tiny dash of peppermint extract and it was deliiiiiiiicioooooooooous.


Let’s be honest, we may plate things up nicely for the cameras, but doesn’t everything eventually end up in old tofutti containers? Honesty for Pixley!

Chocolate Pudding

ingredients

-1 ripe avocado
-1/4 c carob/chocolate powder [it’s fine using all carob, but I wouldn’t use all chocolate, you’re gonna need a lot more sweetener if you do. I like a 50/50 mix]
-1/4 c agave/maple syrup [maple tastes nicer, but it’s pretty expensive right now…]
-1/4 tsp peppermint extract

to do

1. Throw everything into a little food processor. Big one or a blender ain’t gonna cut it, you don’t have enough stuff. If you don’t have a wee little food processor, you can mash it up real good, but it’s not gonna be as smooth. I highly suggest you get a wee one, they’re totally useful when you just want a small amount of something.

2. Bleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeend!

3. Stick it in the fridge for a bit, at least an hour, so it can meld flavors better and firm up a bit.

About wee forks

We like tricking people into eating delicious food that just happens to be vegan. We also like tiny little forks. They make us feel like giants. We also like using the royal we, it would seem... View all posts by wee forks

5 responses to “chocolate pudding

  • The Sweetest Vegan

    Never though to add mint. And it is getting cold fast. it’s refreshing though seeing that we didn’t have a winter last year.

    • wee forks

      I hadn’t either, then I was at Chicago Diner this last weekend and had an amazing peppermint hot chocolate, so I definitely thought of it then. Sometime I need to add orange somehow…

  • Dawn (Vegan Fazool)

    One of the best storage tricks I’ve learned (I forget where!) is that you can store (unripe or ripe) avocados in the refrigerator! Then just take them out a day or two before you plan to use them so they can finish ripening at room temperature. They keep for WEEKS in the fridge with no noticeable deterioration in quality. Amazing.

    Maybe I should put my avocado trick up on my blog, I’m doing a Homesteading theme for MoFo (preserving, canning, cooking and using seasonal fare). And we all love our avocados!

    XOXO!
    Dawn

    • wee forks

      Quiet, woman! I need an excuse to make pudding! :D

      In reality, I have a few in the freezer, it’s supposed to keep them good without too much texture change weirdness. My real problem is finding room for them, as my freezer is full of about 12 different kinds of flour.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

